Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

MARTIN LIPTON
HERBERT M. WACHTELL
BERNARD W. NUSSBAUM
LAWRENCE B. PEDOWITZ
PAUL. VIZCARRONDO, JR.
PETER C. HEIN
HAROLD S. NOVIKOFF
KENNETH B. FORREST
MEYER G. KOPLOW
THEODORE N. MIRVIS
EDWARD D. HERLIHY
DANIEL A. NEFF
ERIC M. ROTH
ANDREW R. BROWNSTEIN
MICHAEL H. BYOWITZ
PAUL K. ROWE
MARC WOLINSKY
DAVID GRUENSTEIN
STEPHEN G. GELLMAN
STEVEN A. ROSENBLUM

STEPHANIE J. SELIGMAN JOHN F. SAVARESE SCOTT K. CHARLES DAVID S. NEILL JODI J. SCHWARTZ ADAM O. EMMERICH GEORGE T. CONWAY III RALPH M. LEVENE RICHARD G. MASON MICHAEL J. SEGAL DAVID M. SILK ROBIN PANOVKA DAVID A. KATZ ILENE KNABLE GOTTS DAVID M. MURPHY JEFFREY M. WINTNER TREVOR S. NORWITZ BEN M. GERMANA ANDREW J. NUSSBAUM RACHELLE SILVERBERG

51 WEST 52ND STREET NEW YORK, N.Y. 10019-6150 TELEPHONE: (212) 403 -1000 FACSIMILE: (212) 403 -2000

GEORGE A. KATZ (1965-1989) JAMES H. FOGELSON (1967-1991)

OF COUNSEL

WILLIAM T. ALLEN
PETER C. CANELLOS
DAVID M. EINHORN
THEODORE GEWERTZ
RICHARD D. KATCHER
THEODORE A. LEVINE
DOUGLAS K. MAYER
ROBERT B. MAZUR
PHILIP MINDLIN
ROBERT M. MORGENTHAU

ERIC S. ROBINSON PATRICIA A. ROBINSON* LEONARD M. ROSEN MICHAEL W. SCHWARTZ ELLIOTT V. STEIN WARREN R. STERN PATRICIA A. VLAHAKIS J. BRYAN WHITWORTH AMY R. WOLF DAVID C. BRYAN
STEVEN A. COHEN
DEBORAH L. PAUL
DAVID C. KARP
RICHARD K. KIM
JOSHUA R. CAMMAKER
MARK GORDON
JOSEPH D. LARSON
LAWRENCE S. MAKOW
JEANNEMARIE O'BRIEN
WAYNE M. CARLIN
STEPHEN R. DIPRIMA
NICHOLAS G. DEMMO
IGOR KIRMAN
JONATHAN M. MOSES
T. EIKO STANGE
DAVID A. SCHWARTZ
JOHN F. LYNCH
WILLIAM SAVITT
ERIC M. ROSOF

MARTIN J.E. ARMS
GREGORY E. OSTLING
DAVID B. ANDERS
ADAM J. SHAPIRO
NELSON O. FITTS
JEREMY L. GOLDSTEIN
JOSHUA M. HOLMES
DAVID E. SHAPIRO
DAMIAN G. DIDDEN
ANTE VUCIC
IAN BOCZKO
MATTHEW M. GUEST
DAVID E. KAHAN
DAVID K. LAM
BENJAMIN M. ROTH
JOSHUA A. FELTMAN
LAINE P. GOLIN
EMIL A. KLEINHAUS
KARESSA L. CAIN

* ADMITTED IN THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

COUNSEL

DAVID M. ADLERSTEIN MICHELE J. ALEXANDER LOUIS J. BARASH DIANNA CHEN ANDREW J.H. CHEUNG PAMELA EHRENKRANZ KATHRYN GETTLES-ATWA PAULA N. GORDON NANCY B. GREENBAUM MAURA R. GROSSMAN MARK A. KOENIG J. AUSTIN LYONS AMANDA N. PERSAUD JEFFREY A. WATIKER

Direct Dial: (212) 403-1394 Direct Fax: (212) 403-2394 E-Mail: DKLam@wlrk.com

December 19, 2012

VIA HAND DELIVERY AND EDGAR

Mr. Jeffrey P. Riedler Assistant Director Division of Corporation Finance U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission 100 F Street, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20549

Re: AbbVie Inc.

Registration Statement on Form S-1

Filed December 10, 2012 File No. 333-185377

Dear Mr. Riedler:

On behalf of our client, AbbVie Inc. (the "<u>Company</u>"), which is currently a wholly owned subsidiary of Abbott Laboratories ("<u>Abbott</u>"), we are providing the Company's responses to the comments of the Staff of the Division of Corporation Finance (the "<u>Staff</u>") of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the "<u>Commission</u>") set forth in your letter, dated December 18, 2012, with respect to the filing referenced above.

This letter and Amendment No.1 ("<u>Amendment No. 1</u>") to the Registration Statement on Form S-1 (File No. 333-185377) (the "<u>Registration Statement</u>" or the "<u>S-1</u>") are being filed electronically via the EDGAR system today. In addition to the EDGAR filing, we are

delivering a hard copy of this letter and a copy of Amendment No. 1 marked to indicate changes from the version of the Registration Statement filed on December 10, 2012.

For the Staff's convenience, the text of the Staff's comments is set forth below in bold, followed in each case by the Company's response. Terms not otherwise defined in this letter shall have the meanings set forth in Amendment No. 1. All references to page numbers in these responses are to the pages of Amendment No. 1.

Signatures, page II-4

1. We note that your registration statement has been signed by Messrs. Chase and Hurwich acting as your Principal Financial Officer and your Principal Accounting Officer, respectively. Your disclosure states that these individuals either "will be named" or "[are] expected to be named" to their positions. Please confirm that these executive officers were serving in their respective positions as of the date of your registration statement.

<u>Response</u>: The Company confirms that, as of the date of the Registration Statement and as of the date of Amendment No. 1, Messrs. Chase and Hurwich were serving as the Company's Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Vice President, Controller, respectively. The Registration Statement has been revised on pages 2–3, 66, and 84–85 to reflect that the Company's executive officers listed in the Registration Statement, including Messrs. Chase and Hurwich, are currently serving in their respective positions at the Company.

2. We further note that your registration statement has been signed by only two directors, neither of whom has been designated to serve on your board of directors after the separation from Abbott Laboratories. Please confirm that the signatories presently constitute a majority of your current board of directors, pursuant to the Instructions to Signatures on Form S-1.

<u>Response</u>: The Company confirms that, as of the date of the Registration Statement and as of the date of Amendment No. 1, the two directors of the Company who signed the Registration Statement constitute a majority of the Company's current board of directors (the "Board"). The Board currently has three directors: Messrs. Thomas C. Freyman and Greg W. Linder, each of whom is an executive officer of Abbott, and Mr. Frederick H. Waddell, who is an independent director. Effective as of immediately prior to the distribution by Abbott of 100% of the outstanding common stock of the Company to Abbott shareholders, which is scheduled to occur on January 1, 2013, (a) Messrs. Freyman and Linder will stop serving on the Board; (b) Mr. Waddell will continue to serve on the Board; and (c) the other directors listed in the Registration Statement under the section entitled "Management—Board of Directors Following the Separation" will be elected to the Board.

* * *

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned at (212) 403-1394 or Karessa L. Cain at (212) 403-1128.

Very truly yours,
/s/ David K. Lam
David K. Lam

Enclosures

cc: Laura J. Schumacher, EVP, Business Development, External Affairs and General Counsel